You must register to have access to the complete forum.

Author Topic: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta  (Read 1041 times)

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3356
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« on: October 21, 2021, 12:55:57 PM »
Download link:
https://www.tone2.com/update/Tone2_Icarus_64bit_v2.0.5_beta.zip

Icarus 2.0.5 PC (free update)

The update to v2.0.5 is available for free. It adds a VST3 version and some enhancements.
Icarus 2.0.5 is downward compatible with all previous versions. All existing song projects and patches can be loaded without any further steps necessary.

New features:

- Added a VST3 version.
- You can select from 3 different installation types: Minimal (VST2 only), Default (VST2 + Standalone) and Full (VST2 + VST3 + Standalone).

Enhancements:

- More smart detection of VST2 path.
- Faster closing of projects.
- Minor enhancements for the standalone version.

Changes:

- Microsoft dropped support for 32bit operating systems. That's why we will focus on 64bit only. If you still use 32bit you can install v2.0.

Notes:

Steinberg advertises that their VST3 format should have 'many essential new features' and 'advantages' compared to competing plugin-formats.
In practise, we do not think that this is true for synthesizers, especially since VST3 does not offer proper MIDI support.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2021, 01:31:47 PM by Markus Krause »

Deepbass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2021, 12:31:04 PM »
I have a problem with the automation in Studio One 5.4.1 (Win10) in the VST3 version. Normally when I click on a knob the automation parameter is selected in the upper left corner of Studio One. I can then drag it onto the track or event clip. This works fine in the VST2 version but in the VST3 it doesn´t show anything (other VST3 instruments work as intended). The manual selection of a parameter works however but it´s tedious to work that way with so many parameters.

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3356
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2021, 03:15:21 PM »
Thanks for the feedback. I'll investigate this.

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3356
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2021, 12:15:46 PM »
It was very difficult to fix it. Apart from this I noticed that recording the automation with VST3 does also not work. It took 5 work-days to fix it. But in the end I was able to solve the isse. The next update will contain the fix.

Have a nice weekend,
Markus

Deepbass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2021, 08:53:05 AM »
I appreciate your work on that. Looking forward to the update!

Cheers,
Andreas

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3356
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2021, 11:28:18 AM »