You must register to have access to the complete forum.

Author Topic: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta  (Read 443 times)

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3275
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« on: October 21, 2021, 12:55:57 PM »
Download link:
https://www.tone2.com/update/Tone2_Icarus_64bit_v2.0.5_beta.zip

Icarus 2.0.5 PC (free update)

The update to v2.0.5 is available for free. It adds a VST3 version and some enhancements.
Icarus 2.0.5 is downward compatible with all previous versions. All existing song projects and patches can be loaded without any further steps necessary.

New features:

- Added a VST3 version.
- You can select from 3 different installation types: Minimal (VST2 only), Default (VST2 + Standalone) and Full (VST2 + VST3 + Standalone).

Enhancements:

- More smart detection of VST2 path.
- Faster closing of projects.
- Minor enhancements for the standalone version.

Changes:

- Microsoft dropped support for 32bit operating systems. That's why we will focus on 64bit only. If you still use 32bit you can install v2.0.

Notes:

Steinberg advertises that their VST3 format should have 'many essential new features' and 'advantages' compared to competing plugin-formats.
In practise, we do not think that this is true for synthesizers, especially since VST3 does not offer proper MIDI support.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2021, 01:31:47 PM by Markus Krause »

Deepbass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2021, 12:31:04 PM »
I have a problem with the automation in Studio One 5.4.1 (Win10) in the VST3 version. Normally when I click on a knob the automation parameter is selected in the upper left corner of Studio One. I can then drag it onto the track or event clip. This works fine in the VST2 version but in the VST3 it doesnīt show anything (other VST3 instruments work as intended). The manual selection of a parameter works however but itīs tedious to work that way with so many parameters.

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3275
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2021, 03:15:21 PM »
Thanks for the feedback. I'll investigate this.

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3275
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2021, 12:15:46 PM »
It was very difficult to fix it. Apart from this I noticed that recording the automation with VST3 does also not work. It took 5 work-days to fix it. But in the end I was able to solve the isse. The next update will contain the fix.

Have a nice weekend,
Markus

Deepbass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2021, 08:53:05 AM »
I appreciate your work on that. Looking forward to the update!

Cheers,
Andreas

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3275
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Icarus v2.0.5 public beta
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2021, 11:28:18 AM »