You must register to have access to the complete forum.

Author Topic: [Solved]Ableton 10.1.5 Mac does not detect Icarus2 VST  (Read 245 times)

Sureno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
[Solved]Ableton 10.1.5 Mac does not detect Icarus2 VST
« on: December 06, 2019, 06:05:59 PM »
Hey guys, updated to v2 yesterday but the vst is simply not showing in ableton
AU showing but VST version isn't showing?! iv contacted both ableton and Tone2 so kind of just waiting.
But me being me I'm still going to try to get to the bottom of it
VST shows in other DAW's
tried rescan
tried alt+rescan
tried toggling vst switch
restarted computer
all on numerous occasions
im lost at this point

so thinking perhaps if i delete all traces of icarus and re install?

i just don't know what files to delete?
« Last Edit: December 09, 2019, 12:40:34 PM by Markus Krause »

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3071
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Uninstalling Icarus?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2019, 07:23:05 AM »
Hello Sureno,

I did run a Test on Ableton10 on MacOS 10.14. Here the VST is showing. We also received no reports from other users which such a problem so far

1) What could happen
What i know is that Apple did some deep changes in Catalina and introduced the 'software notarisation'. It's a big mess and causes a wide range of incompatibilities - that's why many companies warned their customers to upgrade. Apple itself is also aware of the mess, that's why they recently decided to do changes in their quality-management.
Icarus2 already supports software notarisation that Apple introduced. Maybe your Ableton version still can't handle this and requires an update

2) It is also possible that your installation is damaged
In this case:
- Close all your hosts completely. Minimizing or clicking them away is not sufficent
- Go to Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST and delete Icarus.vst
- Delete Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Icarus_data
- Run the installer of v2.0
- Reboot the Mac
- Do a rescan in Ableton

Markus
« Last Edit: December 07, 2019, 07:27:36 AM by Markus Krause »

Sureno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Re: Uninstalling Icarus?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2019, 09:35:31 AM »
Hi thanks for your report, Iím on 10.13.6 high Sierra, from my digging around I found one more person this is happening too as well. Also are you using the latest version of live because I installed it on another computer that had LIVE 10.0.5 and it worked, as soon as I updated LIVE to 10.1.5 (Latest release) Icarus still was seen but it was no longer able to be opened which, to me would suggest a compatibility issue with Abletonís latest version, it also doesnít show on Abletonís beta 10.1.9

EDIT: I just read your reply on KVR, so it is the 10.1 onwards that is causing issue with reading Icarus
Iv not run into this issue with any other plug in and I have a lot all regularly updated to latest release some compatible others not yet with Catalina
« Last Edit: December 07, 2019, 09:53:33 AM by Sureno »

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3071
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: Uninstalling Icarus?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2019, 11:39:03 AM »
Hallo Sureno,

I was able to fix it. Now it also works in Abtleton 10.1.5. It was caused by some missing .png files and the Software notarisation that was introduced with the recent Ableton version.

Fixes:
- The small and large GUI of the Mac VST version did not work
- Ableton 10.1.15 on the Mac did not detect the VST plugin

Download link:
https://www.tone2.com/update/Tone2_Icarus2_Mac.pkg

Best Regards,
Markus

Sureno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Re: [Solved]Uninstalling Icarus?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2019, 11:53:12 AM »
Gawd damn I love ya man  ;D