You must register to have access to the complete forum.

Author Topic: VST3 or VST2  (Read 166 times)

Luis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Email
VST3 or VST2
« on: October 14, 2022, 08:43:22 PM »
Hi Markus Krause. In the another post you mentioned that VST3 lacks in features compared to VST2. I see the a lots updates for VST3 now.   
So should I use VST2 or VST3. Thanks 

Markus Krause

  • Tone2.com audiosoftware
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3356
    • Tone2.com audiosoftware
Re: VST3 or VST2
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2022, 09:48:05 AM »
Hello Luis,

if you want to use Midi you really should use VST2, since Steinberg's VST3 format does not offer full Midi support.

Here is a comparison of plugin formats:
https://www.tone2.com/plugin-formats.html

Best Regards,
Markus

Luis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Email
Re: VST3 or VST2
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2022, 04:55:06 PM »
Thanks Markus.



Hello Luis,

if you want to use Midi you really should use VST2, since Steinberg's VST3 format does not offer full Midi support.

Here is a comparison of plugin formats:
https://www.tone2.com/plugin-formats.html

Best Regards,
Markus